Nominations Requested for the David Clark Award 2023

Nominations are requested for The Security Commonwealth David Clark CPP PCI PSP FISRM FinstLM
Award for Exceptional Contribution to the UK Security Sector’, known as the David Clark Award’.


Many UK security professionals will know, the late David Clark, former Chair of the Security
Commonwealth (SyCom) and ASIS (UK Chapter), made exceptional voluntary contributions across the
UK security profession before his untimely death in 2019. This award will serve as a legacy, building
upon David’s efforts to encourage continuous improvement within the UK security sector.

Criteria for entry

There are two David Clark Awards, which when adjudicated, may be made in relation to each of the
following categories:
• Any individual on the recommendation of a SyCom membership organisation.
• Any programme or initiative, including cross-organisational programmes and initiatives, on the
recommendation of a SyCom member organisation.

Completed nominations should be forwarded by email to by 24th
September 2023.


Objective adjudication will be undertaken by a panel comprising SyCom membership organisations
and other industry professionals, overseen by a SyCom Moderating Panel. Entries will be judged
according to the following criteria based on SyCom’s High-level Aims and Objectives:

• Achieves effective “Collaboration, cooperation and communication”
• Shares good practices and promotes continuous improvement
• Supports industry development and engagement
• Brings the UK security profession together – “Stronger Together”
• Demonstrates SyCom’s commitment to Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
• Provides evidence of ‘exceptional contribution to the UK Security Sector
• An independent adjudicator will be invited to demonstrate consistency and transparency.

NB: Commercial and income-generating activities will not normally be considered. Initiatives directly
related to SyCom Board members will also be excluded.

Further details of the Award and entry forms can be found on the SyCom Website here.
Entries are open until 24th September 2023

Written entries should be of no more than 650 words and must address the bullet points listed above.
Entries should be forwarded to

Award ceremony

The winners of the 2023 David Clark Award will be announced, and presentations made at the IFPO
(International Foundation for Protection Officers UK) networking event on 1st November 2023.

Media Statements

Jayne King FySI,
Chair of the UK Security Commonwealth

“In 2021 The Security Commonwealth (SyCom) Committee launched a new annual award for
Exceptional Contributions to the UK Security Industry. The award is known as the David Clark Award
In recognition of his standing and voluntary contribution across the UK security profession before his
untimely death in 2019. The award will build upon David’s efforts, both as an outstanding chair of
SyCom and more widely, to encourage continuous improvement within the UK security sector.
This is a really important initiative for the Commonwealth and a fitting way to remember David
Clark. We need to get a range of worthy entries. To this end, please consider entries from your own
organisations or those who you would wish to support. Please also spread the word within your
organisations and beyond”.

Mike Hurst CPP CPOI, Regional Director, IFPO Europe.
We are delighted that the IFPO will be hosting this year’s David Clark Awards. On a personal note,
having worked with Dave on the Boards of both ASIS and SyCom, I am excited that we have the
chance to honour Dave by recognising Exceptional Contribution to the sector.
I would encourage everyone to nominate both individuals and organisations for these awards.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Michael O'Sullivan