PRESS RELEASE: New Board Members for the Security Commonwealth

Following the recommendation of the current Board Members, three new Board Directors were confirmed at the recent committee meeting of the Security Commonwealth.

They are Darren Carter CPP, Nicholas Reed FSyI F.ISRM S.IIRSM SRMP-C CBCI TechIOSH and Claire Humble MlntlSy MSyl CPOI: in recent months, both David Ward and Houdah Al-Hakim have stepped down from their Board roles.

Talking about her appointment Claire, said she wanted to join the SyCom Board to help Challenge the norms, positively influence change and champion new ways of working on behalf of the security sector and the wider community.

Nic, who will be assisting Dave Cooke CPP with the Secretariat duties says “I am privileged and honoured to have been both accepted onto the Board of the UK Security Commonwealth and also to take up a role supporting the Secretariat of the organisation. My intention is to support SyCom in fulfilling its mandate as the uniting, umbrella body bringing together the common interests of the numerous associations in the UK security sector and acting as a conduit for inter-organisational communication and coordination in promoting the member body interests and propagating industry supportive initiatives – together we can achieve so much more.”

Darren, who has been involved with Security Commonwealth since it was formed in 2015, comments that “it is a privilege to have recently joined the Board and I do so with the full intent of helping to drive the ambitions of all those who readily commit their time and energy into the organisation. Bringing together the many organisations who lead our industry, under a unified working group is by no means any easy task. That said, strength is found with common understanding and shared values, I’m grateful for the opportunity and very much look forward to making a positive contribution to the team.”

Security Commonwealth Chair, Jayne King FSyI, ASMS welcomed Darren, Nic and Claire to the Board and knows that their drive and enthusiasm will help guide Sycom in the months and years ahead. They will be joining existing Board members of Jayne King, Joe Connell MBE, Guy Mathias, Graham Bassett, Dave Cooke, Oliver Curran, and Mike Hurst.

Jayne also wanted to announce that this year’s David Clark Award for Exceptional Contribution to the UK Security Sector, will be presented on November 1st at an event hosted by the International Foundation for Protection Officers UK (IFPO) and that nominations are now open –

Recommended For You

About the Author: Michael O'Sullivan